Project 2 – Event Ad

Event Ad

Description: A full-bleed color event advertisement to promote a Cancer Foundation fundraiser using only Microsoft Word and an image scanned in with a scanner.

Process: To start off I created a couple of possible layouts for the design. After picking the one I felt would most accurately appeal to my audience, I scanned in the image of the drawing into Photoshop to create the right resolution. I imported the image into Word, and created the various pieces of the layout. As I placed the layers together I was careful to follow a nice complimentary color scheme. I chose one font with contrasting weights for simplicity and unity throughout my design. I was enlightened to learn how much I could use the various design features of Microsoft Word. My confidence with the program has increased tenfold. Programs I used: Microsoft Word, Adobe Photoshop, and PDF2JPG.net (a PDF converter).

Message: I am running a fundraiser to raise money for the Children’s Cancer Association.  I wanted my audience to be captured by the vibrance of this flyer and think the event would be a worthwhile and enjoyable time. 

Audience: Various people in or around the community, looking to support the Children’s Cancer Association and cancer research.

Top thing learned: I learned how to scan images properly, convert pixels to create a clearer image, and how to use some of the differing features of Microsoft Word.

Color scheme and color names: Complimentary / Orange and Blue

Title Font Name & Category: Afta Serif Bold – Slab Serif / Oldstyle

Copy Font Name & Category: Afta Serif Regular – Slab Serif / Oldstyle

Scanned images used,  sources, original sizes: This image was scanned from Visual Focus by Caryn Esplin. The image was originally about  6″ x 7″. I scanned it at 300 dpi resolution to make it so I could print a little bigger without a decrease in resolution.

2 thoughts on “Project 2 – Event Ad

  1. Wow. Beautiful work. I love this! it is very unique and creative and fits your message perfectly. I love the blue arrow, it draws your attention to that piece of information and then points to the design to carry the viewers eye over. I like the blue and orange- great complimentary colors. To check out a design with more monochromatic colors visit: https://elliearave.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Like

Tell me what you think...

