Event Ad Project

5AJacobHayes

5AJacobHayes_Word

Message: Come to the benefit concert to support Ririe’s senior citizens.

Audience: Anybody with a love for music that is also interested in supporting the local senior citizens.

Process: My message was to put on an event, to help support the local senior citizen’s center. So to start off I wanted to create an attractive, eye-catching layout to appeal to older and younger people alike. I chose the complementary color scheme, because it went along with the image and seemed like it would make things less busy. I made the title large and attention-getting. The fonts were chosen due to their legibility and contrast, making them look professional. I put all of these ideas into Microsoft Word and used only that software to create the flyer.

Critique Process: I had a number of people critique this design. Firstly, from the facebook page Leah Goodwin and Charity Jacob brought up the issue of alignment on the text elements on the right side of the flyer and repetition. There were a couple of lines that weren’t aligned as well as they should have been, so they were adjusted. Secondly, from the instructor critique, I changed the font size on the admission and description of the event to be smaller to allow for more white space and a larger, punchier title. I also had my girlfriend look over the design, and the portions that are slightly transparent were not before. It was her idea to create more visual interest by making them slightly see-through, so I did and she was right. (I critiqued Liz Miller and Emma Merrill)

Color Scheme: Complementary: Teal / Brick

Fonts:  Title- Bodoni 72 Bold (Modern / Oldstyle) / Body Copy- Kohinoor Devanagari (Sans-Serif)

Link to image: https://unsplash.com/photos/yvx7LSZSzeo  

6 thoughts on “Event Ad Project

  1. Jacob, Your flyer is just plain awesome. Neat idea to us the color scheme that you did (I would never of thought of using those colors for something like this) also your girlfriend had a great idea to make some of the color be translucent, that really does make your piece interesting and unique. I hope I can use some of these techniques in a future piece as they would be really fun to try out. Great learning from your work.

    You can see my flyer at https://lmgoodwi.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/event-flyer. Another interesting flyer is at https://itsperfectforme.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/event-flier/comment-page-1/#comment-9.

    Like

  2. Jacob, Your flyer is just plain awesome. Neat idea to us the color scheme that you did (I would never of thought of using those colors for something like this) also your girlfriend had a great idea to make some of the color be translucent, that really does make your piece interesting and unique. I hope I can use some of these techniques in a future piece as they would be really fun to try out. Great learning from your work.

    You can see my flyer at https://lmgoodwi.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/event-flyer. Another interesting flyer is at https://itsperfectforme.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/event-flier.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

