Slide Design Project

Speakers Outline

Introduction

  • How do you explain when things don’t go as we assume?
  • Apple is so innovative, yet they have just as much access to talent.
  • Why do certain things WORK BETTER than others?

Body

  • The Golden Circle
  • WHY? HOW? WHAT?
  • People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it
  • You have to figure out why you do something if you want to be successful
  • What is your PURPOSE?
  • If you talk about what you believe, you will attract those who believe what you believe.
  • Start with WHY
  • The law of diffusion of innovation
  • In other words, we communicate from the outside in
  • People can understand vast amounts of complicated information
  • The Wright Brothers
  • They had none of what we consider to be the recipe for success.
  • They were driven by a CAUSE
  • Martin Luther King Jr.
  • Dr. King wasn’t the only man in America who was a great orator
  • He was a man with a DREAM, not a man with a plan

Conclusion

  • It is vital that we Start with WHY

Process

To start out I selected a TED Talk that resonated with me, and so I chose Simon Sinek’s talk “Start With Why” which was given on May 2010 that deals with why people are drawn to certain things. The talk is directed at any people trying to make an impact in their respective fields.  I found a site with a lot of reliable royalty-free high-quality images that would be suitable for a slideshow that would go along with this presentation. I then sketched out what I wanted the slides to look like including the images, text, and repeating graphic element. I chose to use a monochromatic color scheme, because I felt that it would be a good fit to bring all of the different slides together through the similarity of color.

Slide Design Sketches

Critique Report

I had multiple critiques for this project that come from a couple of sources. Firstly, I utilized the instructor critique from the video that was posted online. She said that the main issue with my slides was that there were a couple that didn’t have enough breathing room around the text. I went back in and made sure to make the text more legible and spaced out well. There were a couple of people online that led to some slight design changes. For example Charity Jacobs said that I should try bolding certain elements more to add more contrast, and I did. I also changed some of the font weights as per Kristen Dunnell’s suggestion.

Link to the talkhttps://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action?language=en

Fonts: Avenir Bold / Avenir Light (Sans Serif)

All images courtesy of Unsplash.com

 

3 thoughts on “Slide Design Project

  1. I like your slides. I thought the first one with the iPhone was great. I love Apple products and to me they work better than others. This made me chuckle a little. I also liked your slide with Dr. King. I used him in my slide presentation on Vision, Mission and Values. You can check it out here on my blob: https://lostsheep.me/blog/.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

