Depth of Field – Deep and Shallow

Being able to take a photo that has a nice depth of field can take a photo from being moderately tolerable to look at to something quite visually compelling. It was fun challenge to get some of the images for this project. I found myself trying harder to get shots that were enjoyable to look at, which forced me to be more creative in my composure. Overall, it was a good experience in getting to know aperture sizes better.

Deep Depth of Field


Spori From a Distance – 10/4/16, 12:15 pm, NorthPoint Apartments, FL 75mm, f/22, 1/20 sec, Camera: Canon Rebel EOS T6i, Natural Lighting

jacobhayes-a4deep2

For this shot I went out onto the top floor of my apartment complex’s parking garage in the blisteringly cold winds of Rexburg. I knew I would most likely have to use a tripod, but I wasn’t anticipating holding the tripod down to make sure that the wind didn’t make the images blurry. The day was quite dreary and overcast, so some editing was utilized in making the image appear warmer and more vibrant than the actual scene which was really grey and bland. Welcome to winter in Idaho.

Don’t Go Outside – 10/4/16, 12:30 pm, NorthPoint Apartments, FL 31mm, f/29, 1/6 sec, Camera: Canon Rebel EOS T6i, Natural Lighting through the window

jacobhayesa4-deep

I promise that I wasn’t going for anything too dark or creepy when I was setting up for this image. I composed the shot the way that I wanted, set the camera to a 10 second timer, and then walked over to the window and posed in a different way to try and get something visually appealing. It took about 20 different shots (and of course the one I was happiest with was the one I took last), but turned out alright I think. I added some grain and a little adjustment to the color to match the overall mood and feel of the photo.

Shallow Depth of Field


Superior Support for the Hair – 10/1/16, 7:00 pm, NorthPoint Apartments, FL 33mm, f/4.5, 1/50 sec, Camera: Canon Rebel EOS T6i, Indoor Lighting

jacobhayes-a4-shallow

This is quite simply an image of my roommate’s hair product, which smells like a chemical production factory. I had to wait to get this shot until there wasn’t anybody in the hallway (to avoid awkward looks), and wanted to try to get a nice image using only the indoor lighting. The overall composing wasn’t too difficult, but after I took the images I realized there was some unidentified bathroom product on the counter, so that had to be edited out.

Flowers Can Be Manly Too – 9/28/16, 12:35 pm,Outside the Spori, FL 41mm, f/5.0, 1/320 sec, Camera: Canon Rebel EOS T6i, Natural Lighting

jacobhayes-a4-shallow3

Thankfully, there was an entire class outside taking pictures so I didn’t have to worry too much about taking pictures of a flower from about 8 inches away. I took about 5 different images of this one flower, but I found that being really close up and letting the background lend all of its interest to the subject of the image seemed like the best route to go. Minimal editing was done on the image. I did cut out some of the more dramatic contrasting colors in the background.

Dew From the Heavens – 9/28/16, 12:45 pm, Outside the Spori, FL 55mm, f/5.6, 1/40 sec, Camera: Canon Rebel EOS T6i, Natural Lighting

jacobhayes-4a-shallow2

To capture this image I had to practically crawl into a bush and hope I wouldn’t get too wet. I took about 30 different images inside of these bushes (which were not particularly soft to the touch), but I liked the way that you can see the bokeh and the little spiderwebs in the background in this image. I upped the contrast and vibrance a little to bring out the deeper greens and reds of the bush.

2 thoughts on “Depth of Field – Deep and Shallow

  1. Jacob, these are awesome pics!! I think you did a great job with both depths of field. That view of the Spori is unique, and I really like the composition. I also like the blue sky against the fall colors. My favorite shallow depth of field picture is the dew one. That’s amazing that it’s natural lighting. I think that editing the vibrancy really enhanced the shot. Great job!

    Check out my blog at https://naomisweetblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/depth-of-field/
    and here’s a link to Emren’s blog https://efogleblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/04/shallow-deep-depth-of-field/

    Like

Tell me what you think...

